WAMC/School List (ORM, 3.90, 513, FL Resident)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GlassPromontory

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
  1. cGPA and sGPA as calculated by AMCAS or AACOMAS: 3.90 cGPA, 3.95 sGPA (did not do that well in a couple of humanities classes).
  2. MCAT score(s) and breakdown. Include all (non-voided) attempts: 513 (129,127,128,129)
  3. State of residence or country of citizenship (if non-US): FL, with strong ties to VA (uncle lives there) as well as Ohio (family member practicing medicine there)
  4. Ethnicity and/or race: Asian
  5. Undergraduate institution or category: Large in-state public school
  6. Clinical experience (volunteer and non-volunteer): 1,050 hours. 380 hours working initially as an intern and later as a scribe at a free clinic that treats the underserved and uninsured. As an intern I performed patient intake, med recon, and took vitals. As a scribe I documented encounters between patient and different providers and input this information into EHR. 520 hours from an internship with a community resource paramedicine program designed to help residents better manage chronic health conditions, improve quality of life, and reduce burden on emergency services. My objectives were to primarily connect patients with resources such as transportation, dental care, SSI, etc in order to address unmet needs, as well as accompany paramedics on in-home checkups and referrals from other organizations. Lastly, 145 hours volunteering with a daycare center for Alzheimer's patients where I kept them company, assisted in serving meals, and led activities helping to promote cognitive function such as group exercise, crossword, hangman, and word scramble etc.