WAMC: 518, 3.86, CA resident, ORM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sssalison

Reaction score
Hello! I'm a first time applicant hoping to get some eyes on my med school list as I'm currently in my gap year and don't have anyone to turn to regarding my chances. Any advice would truly be appreciated! I feel like I'm just working in a vacuum since all of my friends are delaying their apps another year :(

STATS
  1. Overall GPA 3.86, Science GPA 3.82, Honors all three years of undergrad (I graduated early), Cum Laude
  2. MCAT 518 (128/132/127/131), first attempt
  3. California resident
  4. ORM female
  5. T50 public undergrad, graduated June 2023
  6. [1800+ hrs] Paid clinical employment as medical assistant and surgical tech (ongoing, currently ~850 hrs)
  7. [1700+ hrs] Research experience
    1. [720 hrs] Neuroscience lab
      1. one first author poster presentation at local and national undergraduate research conferences
      2. $2800 as part of research program + conference funding stipend
    2. [860 hrs] Psychology behavioral research lab
    3. [130 hrs] Microbiology lab
      1. one publication in 9+ impact factor journal
      2. one second author poster presentation at local undergraduate research conference
  8. [240 hrs] Non-clinical volunteering
    1. [120 hrs] local fire department (ongoing, currently ~50 hrs)
    2. [120 hrs] hospital hospice program (ongoing, currently ~50 hrs)
  9. Other extracurriculars:
    1. [48 hrs] Publicity chair for pre-health club connecting students with healthcare professionals
    2. [35 hrs] peer tutor for neurobiology course
  10. [30 hrs] Shadowing a pediatric neurologist
MED SCHOOL LIST (so far):

NOTE: I'm really hoping not to take CASPER, but I am open to having my mind changed! I'm also not applying to Texas or Jesuit schools.

Reach
  1. Stanford
  2. Kaiser
  3. UCSF
  4. Mayo
  5. NYU (based on my GPA/MCAT)