Matching into Ophthalmology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

slaveofthehealer

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an OMS I student interested in matching into ophthalmology and I was hoping if someone who has matched into an ophthalmology residency as a DO can advise me about what steps to take to be a competitive candidate. My school does not have many clinical research opportunities so I was wondering how I can do research and find a mentor in the field.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I just posted on your other thread in the DO medical students forum.

Not a DO, but here is some advice:

1) Email academic departments in the area to try and land a research position so that you can publish. You need to get a strong research CV together. You have an early interest in ophthalmology, which means you may have some sort of background in it - if you do, you should reach out to people you worked with. If not, all you can do is email.
2) Get letters from ophthalmologists (preferably well known ones) that you do research with. It is very common for programs to simply ignore your application if you are from a DO school. The most reliable way to get interviews at programs as a DO or even a low tier MD student is to have ophthalmologists you worked with make phone calls to those programs. Otherwise, you truly risk your application being tossed in the trash at a very large number of programs. Ophthalmology programs care a lot about the school you come from (it's actually one of the most important considerations when selecting residents), so you need a strategy to get past that hurdle - phone calls from well known faculty is one way to do it.