Case Western vs. Einstein

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

incomingmd11

Reaction score
I am currently PTE at Case Western but just got off of Einstein's WL and am grateful for anyone's insights!! I understand that people may be on the WL at either of these schools so I want to get this out there in the hopes that a seat can go to another deserving person!

For background, I am a NY resident and have a heavy support system in NY and PA and hope to return to either state for residency

Case Western
PROS:

• Excellent match list in competitive specialties, have no doubts that I would be able to match back to NY/PA despite many students choosing to stay in Ohio or Midwest
  • The HEC building was incredible and I can envision myself learning/studying there
  • Student community when I visited was so positive and enthusiastic and everyone I spoke to really emphasized the collaborative environment and support they got from administration
  • Lots of opportunities for research and great affiliations with Cleveland Clinic, MetroHealth, University Hospitals
  • I didn't expect to like Cleveland as much as I did--nice balance bet. urban and suburban neighborhoods
CONS:
  • No financial aid (am fortunate to have some financial support, but still would end with significant debt)
  • Far from family/friends (would need to fly or drive)
  • Need a car to get to rotations, commute if I live in the downtown area
  • 12-week required research period bet. M1/M2 (but can be done anywhere so there could be flexibility/remote possibilities)
Einstein
PROS:

• Free tuition
  • Closer to family/friends but far away enough to establish my own community
  • Good match list (heavy in NY)
  • Clinical exposure in systems that serve diverse populations which is extremely important to me
CONS: